Back to School

 

ust1
UST Main Building

MANILA – Almost a decade later, I thought of visiting the university that reared me for four years. This is the Main Building of the University of Santo Tomas, the oldest university in Asia having been established by the Dominican friars in 1611 at the heart of Manila.

ust3

After all those years, rightfully so, it still gives me an impression of magnifence and wisdom.

ust2
The three statues in front of the tower is called the Tria Haec, which symbolizes Faith, Hope, and Charity.

 

Contrary to a popular misconception, the Main Building is not a church. It houses the school administration offices and several colleges, the most notable of which, would be the Faculty of Civil Law.

ust4

This is the church.

ust5

For the same amount of time that I spend in the University of Santo Tomas, I frequented this church inside the campus, at least every Monday morning, to seek guidance and learning. Almost 10 years after, I came back and thanked God for all that I have achieved in my career and prayed for the same guidance that He had given me to the current residents of the University.

Leave a Reply

